Terry – Talk About Terry 7″

Sometimes, things just happen.  For some reason, and I’m not sure why, I listened to Sauna Youth, which meant I found out about Upset The Rhythm.  And that’s great, because if I hadn’t found out about Sauna Youth and Upset The Rhythm, I would probably never have found out about Terry, and their 7″ single, Talk About Terry.  And if I hadn’t found out about Talk About Terry, then the world would have been a bit less enjoyable than it is.  But I did, so the world’s ok.  Terry are (Ctrl-C, Ctrl-V alert) Al Montfort (UV Race, Total Control, Dick Diver etc.), Amy Hill (Constant Mongrel, School Of Radiant Living), Xanthe Waite (Mick Harvey Band) and Zephyr Pavey (Eastlink, Total Control, Russell Street Bombings).  They’ve produced a melancholic sound that’s almost laconic, that almost sounds like they haven’t really had to try that hard, but this kind of pop brilliance doesn’t happen by accident.  It’s just over 2 and a half minutes of pop genius, including handclaps.  Yay, handclaps (see earlier post about Sharptooth – I like handclaps)

Terry CoverThe B Side has another 2 tracks, 70 And Dead and In The Bin.  The only trouble with this, or maybe it’s the point, is that you want more.  3 songs isn’t enough.  If you can play this without wanting to play it again immediately, I suggest you seek medical advice.  Earlier in the year, I posted a review of Distractions, the Sauna Youth lp, and I said, perhaps a little foolishly bearing in mind there was still several months of the year left, that it was the best album of 2015.  I guess I don’t need to say it, but I will.  Talk About Terry is definitely the single of the year.  It’s limited to 500 copies.  I don’t think it’s sold out yet, so If you love music go and buy a copy here now!

Leave a comment