Ch ch ch ch changes

I’ve been thinking about this for a while, and a comment made on a completely unrelated post on Facebook made me realise I was making the right decision.  The reason I started this blog was to provide an outlet for the music I love (and some I don’t necessarily love but I think deserves a wider audience).  It’s never been about me, it’s always been about the music. The more clicks on links to the bands websites and bandcamp pages the better.

So what’s the point of the rest?  I’m not a writer – clearly! – so all I really need to do is list the band, the title, links etc.  The hundreds of other words don’t really mean anything.  You can go and stream the music yourself and make your own decision.

There are too many bloggers out there.  The internet has made it possible for anyone to become a journalist.  “Real” journalists spend years learning their craft, it’s not generally done on a whim.  I’m not saying every blogger is the same, there are some good ones out there, and they deserve to be read.  But in the main, they aren’t any good and they need to get their heads out of their arses.

So, from now on, my “reviews” will be lists.  It doesn’t matter what I think, how many hilarious quips I make that usually only mean something to me and one other person. What matters is that you know the music is out there and you can click on links to listen and hopefully buy.  Ski Pie Rage will still exist, just expanding in other ways, with releases and gigs.

image

Leave a Reply

