Breakfast Muff – The Feels

0005201768_10I know.  I’m late, I should have done this earlier.  But even I get busy now and again, so I hope you’ll forgive me.  It was seeing Breakfast Muff play last night in Glasgow that reminded me I should get my finger out and post a review of this before they release something else.  Last night. they were, as always, brilliant, and this Number4Door release is the first of what will hopefully be loads more.

A potted history first though, for any people unfamiliar with the band.  Breakfast Muff are Cal (also of Youngstrr Joey and Spinning Coin), Simom (also with Strop / Froth, and who I keep calling Simone -sorry!!) and Eilidh (Jealous Girlfriend and Strop / Froth).  They all play drums, bass and guitar, swapping throughout a set at various points.  Whatever the combination, what you get is music to make you smile/dance/shout and occasionally, whether you know it or not at the time, make you think about the world.  Which is nice, because they’re nearly always right.

a0835232993_10

The music is at times, cacophonous yet tuneful.  “Like Hole but funnier”, is how they describe themselves.  It’s riotous but in a fun way.  They manage the odd nod and a wink to various genres – stadium rock on Laughing Gas, bubblegum pop on Friend, but in general what you get is pure, unadulterated Breakfast Muff.  Songs about pizza and life.  I’m not going to lie to you.  Breakfast Muff aren’t for the faint hearted.  They’ll take subjects most bands wouldn’t touch with a barge pole and make them fun.  Be a devil, come along for the ride and see how much fun you can have.

Leave a Reply

