Plush – Pine

0005466662_10

We’ve spent some time in Canada, time to head down the west coast to San Francisco.  Say hello to Plush, a 4 piece band providing more evidence that shoegaze is alive and well, whether you like it or not.  I’m not entirely sure who the individual members of the band are, their Bandcamp page differs from their Facebook page – we’ve definitely got Dyl, E and Karl, but then you can take your pick between Stan and Cecil.  Email them, I’m sure they’ll tell you if you’re interested.

Before you do that, give this 5 track ep a listen.  They describe their sound as sob rock, which is a new one on me, but with lyrics like “I ache for the truth, you never smile like you used to” (on Head In The Ground), and “I’ll steal the pain from your bones, I’ll make it mine when you leave” (from Teeth) I can see where they’re coming from.  The music is full of crashing cymbals, LOADS of reverb and some of those big chords I love, coupled with some great melodies on the vocals.  It isn’t “happy” music but there are definitely pop songs in here if you pay attention.

Another Name Your Price option on Bandcamp, the band are taking some time off from gigs and touring to write some more, and I for one am looking forward to hearing what comes next.

a1539871299_10

Leave a Reply

